A Career That’s Not A…Career?

It’s in my heart to travel the world, at least for a little while. Go and stand atop of mountain (and take picture), pretend that I’m going to fall into a waterfall in a forest somewhere (and take a picture), or even go somewhere like Italy and actually eat REAL spaghetti!….and take a picture.

And with all of this of course you will need money to some extent. I think the career that I’m looking for is freelancing. I mean I want to work but…I don’t want to have to keep going to the same place and dealing with the same folks for the same trivial wage in the same bittersweet routine. Doing the same thing over…and over…and over…again. Get enough sleep to go to work and since I work the night shift, I sleep all through the day.

I want a job that doesn’t require me clocking in and clocking out but something that I love to do. I don’t really like “salesmen” type jobs…but I do want a job that I can sit anywhere and do. For instance, go and sit by a lake and do my work? I think that’d be awesome.

But to be a freelancer I’d really and I mean I’d REALLY have to build up my portfolio, and especially for the type of freelancing I want to do. I said I’d like to try freelancing with making 3D models but I’m not even relatively *good* at it like others are out there. I mean I’ve kinda gotten better but I have so much experience to go through before I can confidently make a model for anyone. I’ll keep pressing on because I do like that idea. Being able to do a career anywhere….sitting the highest cliff of the Grand Canyon just working on a 3D model? Sitting by a huge waterfall or whatever or just in the midst of a rainforest with all it’s beautiful creatures and letting inspiration hit me through there as I write out new ideas for scripts and storylines?….yeah.

I just want to travel. It’s not that I don’t want to work but every job pretty much has you stationary in ONE position. I don’t want to be in ONE position, especially for the rest of my life…I don’t know. How do people travel?

Who freelances? Who travels? Who travels and freelances? I would love to hear some advice, ideas, experiences, something…

 

~ thinkblind ~

Leave a Reply

